Customer Reviews - United States

Worth the money Bigdog58 - Version 1.0 - 8/4/2009 - United States

This app is worth the price of admission, I have used it 5 times so far and am completely satisfied. The guys I play with all have sky caddies or various subscription based GPS units and can't believe that this is a one time deal. The stats are great and by the time you get to the 19th hole your scorecard is in your inbox. Sometimes its a little slow updateding yardages, usually within a yard or two of the dedicated golf units out there.

No hype, Wonderful results Wdmteam - Version 1.0 - 8/4/2009 - United States

I suspected some of the reviews were 'planted'. Not so! Great results, I am a total fan. This is the best deal going. Do read the FAQ, and get a battery extender, and set auto lock to never.

Favorite iPhone App to Date! MCleek - Version 1.0 - 8/4/2009 - United States

Perfect! Everything I can get in a Sky Caddie and more. Readings were very accurate. Not too hard on battery life. All regional courses were available for me. Exceeds all expectations.

Excellent App - A few more refinements and it will be superb David Sreter - Version 1.0 - 8/4/2009 - United States

While this app is relatively pricey at $30, it is very cheap compared to other GPS devices sold on the market. I found the yardage measurements to be very accurate (i.e., within 1-2 yards of GPS devices that are $200 - $400 more expensive), and I believe the features on this app are far more helpful and user-friendly than most. The ability to track statistics is particularly appealing to those that enjoy analyzing their golf games. With a few more refinements, this app will be as good as one could expect for the price. First, it would be great if the app could keep track of matches you play in your group (e.g., best-ball, skins, nassau, etc.). This would greatly enhance the scorecard feature, and would eliminate the need for any duplication between the digital scorecard and the card that the foursome keeps in written form. Second, it would also be great if the player can enter his/her USGA handicap index and the app could figure out their handicap relative to the particular course/tees they are playing. Right now, the app requires the player to input his handicap for the course. If the app could do this, it would make it easier to handle scoring for matches and the identification of holes where players get strokes from their competitors. Overall, a great app.

Excellent App - A few more refinements and it will be superb GPS fan - Version 1.0 - 8/4/2009 - United States

While this app is relatively pricey at $30, it is very cheap compared to other GPS devices sold on the market. I found the yardage measurements to be very accurate (i.e., within 1-2 yards of GPS devices that are $200 - $400 more expensive), and I believe the features on this app are far more helpful and user-friendly than most. The ability to track statistics is particularly appealing to those that enjoy analyzing their golf games. With a few more refinements, this app will be as good as one could expect for the price. First, it would be great if the app could keep track of matches you play in your group (e.g., best-ball, skins, nassau, etc.). This would greatly enhance the scorecard feature, and would eliminate the need for any duplication between the digital scorecard and the card that the foursome keeps in written form. Second, it would also be great if the player can enter his/her USGA handicap index and the app could figure out their handicap relative to the particular course/tees they are playing. Right now, the app requires the player to input his handicap for the course. If the app could do this, it would make it easier to handle scoring for matches and the identification of holes where players get strokes from their competitors. Overall, a great app.

SECOND TO NONE! ANNNNT! - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

WOW! UNBELEIVABLE! HARD TO iMAGINE THAT YOU CAN IMPROVE ON THIS. (BUT LOOKING FOWARD TO IT.) BRAVO!

Great app... TN golfer - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

I tried several of the other golf apps. Several of my playing partners have GPS tools, and the yardage from this app was right in the same range. Signal strength was a small issue, causing slow downs when it wasn't good, but overall I thought it was well worth the $30. Stat tracking is great. I've been disappointed by the other golf GPS apps, but this one was great. The battery power is a little bit of a problem, but for me the phone synced up with the satellites very quickly, so I shut down between shots without any problem. I would go to the site, download the manual, and follow the recommendations re power, but once I figured everything out, and turned off the screen between shots, I only used about 20% for the last 16 holes. I recommend this for all golfers.

Pretty cool JFKyle - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

I just got back from my first round of golf using this app and it was pretty amazing. Being able to see my distance on the fly and track my stats afterward it a great help. There is room for improvement though:

Great app Golf Nut 99 - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

This app is the best. I have had a sky caddie for a couple of years and this is better. It gives you more info and is easy to use. What a deal for $30.

Great App! Tons of fun! RPESQ - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

WOW! Too bad there isn't a rating better than 5 stars because this one deserves it. It's easy to use - faster than a score card and u get all sorts of stats at your disposal. When u r done with a round they e-mail u a score card! Too cool! This app gives u accurate distances AND if u haven't been at a course before they have satellite views so u can SEE the bunkers and creeks BEFORE u end up in them! lol! At $29.99 it's a steal for all it does. I asked them to add a course in England and in less than a week, there it was! Be the hit at the club with this app. It's way above par! (Pardon the pun...)

Wow! Works Great! Christian Flowers - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

This is a great app! I have used it a handful of times now and it works just as well as my uPro GPS that I paid $400 dollars for. Very easy to use and the target layups are great. Easier to see the screen then on my uPro and it's an added benefit to put scores and stats in.

Awesome! Tonylaj - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

I was researching getting the SkyCaddie or the Callaway gps range finder. Then I found this app. Used it for the first time last week. Worked great. I was concerned that the yardage may not be very accurate. But when I was standing on the 150 yard marker and I was reading 150 I was good to go! The display is great and easy to read. Also , I played 18 with 100% battery. I used the app for almost every hole. At the end of my round the batt was at 44%. I also checked my email and made 3 phone calls! Best part is that I saved about $400!

Great! Goldenduffer - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

I used it at a number of different courses in different parts of the state. It located all the appropriate courses. It was interesting to use to see how far I should hit my first shot to get a very do-able second shot. I'm convinced. I think I will try and sell my iGolf.

Pretty cool Kyle Starr - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

I just got back from my first round of golf using this app and it was pretty amazing. Being able to see my distance on the fly and track my stats afterward it a great help. There is room for improvement though:

Wow! Works Great! cflow32 - Version 1.0 - 8/3/2009 - United States

This is a great app! I have used it a handful of times now and it works just as well as my uPro GPS that I paid $400 dollars for. Very easy to use and the target layups are great. Easier to see the screen then on my uPro and it's an added benefit to put scores and stats in.

Great APP T McGuinn - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

This works....yesterday played a course with GPS on the carts and it was dead on. Definately worth the money.

Another SkyCaddie convert Michael Bobrow - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

I've been a SkyCaddie user for about 3 years now, running the SG5. I've tried most of the Apps for the iphone and to date, Golfshot pretty much crushes them all. For the past few weeks i've been using GolfShot and my SkyCaddie together, but the last 4 rounds I've ditched the SkyCaddie completely. It's not perfect, but GolfShot comes pretty close and I assume the next update will take care of my few cons. The biggest issue is the battery life. The program really works the best when the iPhone is left on ALL the time, (you need to set autolock to never) so you really need to shut off 3G, bluetooth and WiFi. I went out and bought a $70 Morphie Juice pack air, which allows me to easily get through a 4-5 hour round as long as the phone is charged up as well. I actually prefer to use it with the iPhone anyways as it fits perfectly and adds a nice protective layer around the phone so I can just throw it in a cup holder or the rack of a push cart without fear of banging it around. I think its the best and only real choice. I even moved it to my first App page which is quite the honor. Here are my pros and cons... Pros The aesthetics and ergonomics of the program are fantastic About as accurate and fast as my SkyCaddie (off by 2-4 yards) Starts up and resumes very quickly, whole program is fast and responsive Great scoring system One button to resume a round once you exit and reenter the program Scores saved onto the GolfShot website Love the graphs Great customer service (response to questions and suggestions within 1 day) Tells you previous score average for the hole your playing on! Every course I've played on has been in the database Very fast to select players and courses, much quicker then other apps I've used Scrolling overhead image with the ability to slide your finger around for layups! Lists your previous rounds on the phone with a score next to it 9 hole games are saved as 9 hole games automatically Automatically emails you a nicely formated scorecard at the end of a round Cons Battery life really requires a battery pack (no fault of the GolfShot folks) No easy way to enter previous rounds and change dates (can be done but tedious) No way to enter previous rounds if you don't at least have the putting numbers If you enter previous round without putting data (set put to 0) it screws up the averages There could be one less click to enter scores. When you click the score button it should take you to the score entry area. It's redundant to have to click again to enter the data. (not a big deal really) Does not show the hole info (handicap/par/yardage on the Aerial or GPS screen (you have to hit "i" which is a pain) Does not show the hole handicap or yardage info on the scorecard view Hope it's in the next version... Would be nice if it would submit my score to GHIN & Oobgolf Would be nice if you could enter previous rounds on the website to quickly enter statistics info Would be nice to be able to enter Chip and Sand data Would be nice to be able to automatically save drive distances Pie charts are great but I would really like to see a line graph plotting my improvement over time One more zoom click to really zoom in on green shape etc All in all the program is amazing and a must buy. Great Job

Awesome Gellybeen - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

This app does everything you could want from a golf GPS. Only complaint is that it can take 30-45 seconds to get an exact measurement. I recemmend turning on your iPhone 30 seconds before arriving at your ball or tee-box and when you arrive it will be ready. Great app, worth every penny.

The app I've been dreaming of! toddbinder - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

Ever since I heard that iPhone would be getting GPS, I've been dreaming of an app like this. I am so glad that I didn't shell out 100s of dollars for a standalone golf GPS unit.

Best!!! Robstax - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

By far the greatest golf gps app out there !!!! Gaurenteed to be the best !!!go get it and play a round ,, you'll be writing a review like me ,and I never wrote one b4 ,,, first one for me,,, awsome

Best app period ChromedOutNaviTv - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

I dont really write reviews but I actually decided to log in and put my two cents on this app. Just installed it last night and played a round today, I was amazed at the accuracy of the gps rangefinder and the features. Worth way more than $29.99. Every golfer with a iPhone 3g/3gs needs this.

Another SkyCaddie convert Moby Ick - Version 1.0 - 8/2/2009 - United States

I've been a SkyCaddie user for about 3 years now, running the SG5. I've tried most of the Apps for the iphone and to date, Golfshot pretty much crushes them all. For the past few weeks i've been using GolfShot and my SkyCaddie together, but the last 4 rounds I've ditched the SkyCaddie completely. It's not perfect, but GolfShot comes pretty close and I assume the next update will take care of my few cons. The biggest issue is the battery life. The program really works the best when the iPhone is left on ALL the time, (you need to set autolock to never) so you really need to shut off 3G, bluetooth and WiFi. I went out and bought a $70 Morphie Juice pack air, which allows me to easily get through a 4-5 hour round as long as the phone is charged up as well. I actually prefer to use it with the iPhone anyways as it fits perfectly and adds a nice protective layer around the phone so I can just throw it in a cup holder or the rack of a push cart without fear of banging it around. I think its the best and only real choice. I even moved it to my first App page which is quite the honor. Here are my pros and cons... Pros The aesthetics and ergonomics of the program are fantastic About as accurate and fast as my SkyCaddie (off by 2-4 yards) Starts up and resumes very quickly, whole program is fast and responsive Great scoring system One button to resume a round once you exit and reenter the program Scores saved onto the GolfShot website Love the graphs Great customer service (response to questions and suggestions within 1 day) Tells you previous score average for the hole your playing on! Every course I've played on has been in the database Very fast to select players and courses, much quicker then other apps I've used Scrolling overhead image with the ability to slide your finger around for layups! Lists your previous rounds on the phone with a score next to it 9 hole games are saved as 9 hole games automatically Automatically emails you a nicely formated scorecard at the end of a round Cons Battery life really requires a battery pack (no fault of the GolfShot folks) No easy way to enter previous rounds and change dates (can be done but tedious) No way to enter previous rounds if you don't at least have the putting numbers If you enter previous round without putting data (set put to 0) it screws up the averages There could be one less click to enter scores. When you click the score button it should take you to the score entry area. It's redundant to have to click again to enter the data. (not a big deal really) Does not show the hole info (handicap/par/yardage on the Aerial or GPS screen (you have to hit "i" which is a pain) Does not show the hole handicap or yardage info on the scorecard view Hope it's in the next version... Would be nice if it would submit my score to GHIN & Oobgolf Would be nice if you could enter previous rounds on the website to quickly enter statistics info Would be nice to be able to enter Chip and Sand data Would be nice to be able to automatically save drive distances Pie charts are great but I would really like to see a line graph plotting my improvement over time One more zoom click to really zoom in on green shape etc All in all the program is amazing and a must buy. Great Job

Bye Bye Shycaddie jkh111 - Version 1.0 - 8/1/2009 - United States

Owned SG3 for 6 years and this is better.

Best app on my phone! Jason Swafford - Version 1.0 - 8/1/2009 - United States

Can't beat this deal. The gps features worked great. The shot tracking and round analysis even better. This app makes me want to play more golf.

Great app Spinny02 - Version 1.0 - 8/1/2009 - United States

Worked great on the course . But can be too time consuming !