Customer Reviews - United States

Great App Richard Accurso - Version 1.0 - 8/1/2009 - United States

After resisting to buy a gps unit, I play 4 times a week, 5 hncp, I decided to give this a try. Once I saw the advantage of gps units, I went out and bought a Callaway uPro and used it today for the first time. I did this because my IPhone made it through 9 holes before the battery was drained and I really didnt like the morph juice pack, the bulk it added so I purchased the uPro so I can use a "stand alone" unit. Well, I am now going to ask for a return request from Callaway and putting my juice pack back on. This program is much better than the Callaway as far as ease of use, added features and overall experience, and 350 dollars less

Best app on my phone! Zellik - Version 1.0 - 8/1/2009 - United States

Can't beat this deal. The gps features worked great. The shot tracking and round analysis even better. This app makes me want to play more golf.

Great App rickyacc - Version 1.0 - 8/1/2009 - United States

After resisting to buy a gps unit, I play 4 times a week, 5 hncp, I decided to give this a try. Once I saw the advantage of gps units, I went out and bought a Callaway uPro and used it today for the first time. I did this because my IPhone made it through 9 holes before the battery was drained and I really didnt like the morph juice pack, the bulk it added so I purchased the uPro so I can use a "stand alone" unit. Well, I am now going to ask for a return request from Callaway and putting my juice pack back on. This program is much better than the Callaway as far as ease of use, added features and overall experience, and 350 dollars less

I usually don't write reviews, but this one deserves it! Thank you guys at Golfshot. rdaniels8 - Version 1.0 - 7/31/2009 - United States

Definitely the best golf app I've used. I play 4 to 5 times per week and some of my golfing friends have GPS units and golf apps with the iPhone. Golfshot GPS smokes them all. Unbelievable scorecard with the built in statistics calculations. Don't think you need that little part of the app....THINK AGAIN !!! Amazing what info you could gather from just the scorecard with the stats. Helped me tremendously. Took me a little time to adjust to keeping score with my iPhone instead of the traditional scorecard but I got used to it, and glad I gave this app a chance. I read over 25 to 30 reviews on this app before deciding to download it. App also has a great aerial view as well as the scrolling list view, which I use mostly. If you are serious about getting a golf GPS, then you should check this one out. I reside in Raleigh, NC.

Golfshot vs. SkyCaddy vs. uPro - Golfshot Wins! Achoo! - Version 1.0 - 7/31/2009 - United States

Ok, so I was in the market for a new golf-specific GPS device. I have a SkyCaddy SG3, and after 2+ years, some of the buttons stopped working. That thing ate AA batteries too. Seriously. I was also tired of the annual subscription fees, so needless to say, I started looking elsewhere for another device. I purchased a Callaway uPro on sale from a famous online golf warehouse earlier this month for two hundred fifty bucks, after rebate. The uPro works pretty good and is based upon satellite maps of golf courses, as opposed to the SkyCaddy, which sends out a team of dudes with antennas on their backs to map features for each hole on a given course. (Hence, the annual Sky Caddy subscription fees.) The uPro has no annual subscription fees for basic hole info. (i.e., front, back, and center of green plus hazard yardages), but you can pay a little extra for each golf course if you want to get an expanded view of each hole showing a satellite overhead view. The uPro is typically +/- 1 to 2 yards off of yardage markers and sprinkler heads, which is still more than good enough for my game. After purchasing the uPro, I found Golfshot in the app store. I downloaded it yesterday, used it today over 18 holes at a local public course, and I’m pleased to say that it worked beautifully. My playing partners were blown away and wanted the app. for their non-iPhones. Sorry! Golfshot’s performance was about on par with the Callaway uPro (i.e., +/- 1 to 2 yards off of markers and sprinkler heads). Golfshot also uses satellite maps as well, so I suspect that’s why it’s not dead-on the way the SkyCaddy was, but, like I say, more than good enough for my game. In two crucial respects Golfshot is actually better than both Skycaddy and uPro and that is: 1) it’s much cheaper and doesn’t have any subscription fees whatsoever and 2) you can see the entire hole laid out beautifully on the iPhone’s large, color screen. You can also use your finger on the screen to drag and locate distances from various points to the green. Golfshot is also pretty cool because it’s an integrated scoring/statistics app. as well. Keeping track of my scores and stats. for each hole played was not intrusive on my game play in the least bit. My scorecard was emailed to me immediately after the round, and I can login to the Golfshot website to view my round info. and stats. on my desktop computer. Sweet! Also, one other benefit of Golfshot over Skycaddy is that Golfshot seems to have some courses in my area that SkyCaddy does not. This is probably because SkyCaddy needs permission to map courses and some private courses don’t permit it, whereas Golfshot is using satellite imagery that is available for free to the public. Download and check out Augusta National and TPC Sawgrass folks! A word about battery life – I was walking today and I got the low battery indicator on about hole #15 (with Bluetooth, 3G, WiFi and auto-lock off). Pretty good. I began locking the iPhone just to conserve battery life, and reacquiring satellites upon “awakening” the phone never took more than 5-10 seconds – plenty of time between shots for the phone to locate the satellites and give me a reading. I’ll probably get a battery extender as I’ve been needing one anyway due the iPhone’s poor battery life. Anyhow, my uPro is going back! I highly, highly, highly recommend Golfshot. My hat is off to the Golfshot developers as they hit one out of the park with this one. I just hope that once the Golfshot folks get every iPhone golfer hooked on this app., they don’t pull a fast one on us and come out with a new version that costs money to upgrade. Happy golfing!

Simply Awesome!!! Karl75 - Version 1.0 - 7/31/2009 - United States

This is a great golf app...whether your looking for a golf GPS app for your iPhone or just a way to take your stats. Wow, great job Golfshot!!!

Golfshot vs. SkyCaddy vs. uPro - Golfshot Wins! CDawg! - Version 1.0 - 7/31/2009 - United States

Ok, so I was in the market for a new golf-specific GPS device. I have a SkyCaddy SG3, and after 2+ years, some of the buttons stopped working. That thing ate AA batteries too. Seriously. I was also tired of the annual subscription fees, so needless to say, I started looking elsewhere for another device. I purchased a Callaway uPro on sale from a famous online golf warehouse earlier this month for two hundred fifty bucks, after rebate. The uPro works pretty good and is based upon satellite maps of golf courses, as opposed to the SkyCaddy, which sends out a team of dudes with antennas on their backs to map features for each hole on a given course. (Hence, the annual Sky Caddy subscription fees.) The uPro has no annual subscription fees for basic hole info. (i.e., front, back, and center of green plus hazard yardages), but you can pay a little extra for each golf course if you want to get an expanded view of each hole showing a satellite overhead view. The uPro is typically +/- 1 to 2 yards off of yardage markers and sprinkler heads, which is still more than good enough for my game. After purchasing the uPro, I found Golfshot in the app store. I downloaded it yesterday, used it today over 18 holes at a local public course, and I’m pleased to say that it worked beautifully. My playing partners were blown away and wanted the app. for their non-iPhones. Sorry! Golfshot’s performance was about on par with the Callaway uPro (i.e., +/- 1 to 2 yards off of markers and sprinkler heads). Golfshot also uses satellite maps as well, so I suspect that’s why it’s not dead-on the way the SkyCaddy was, but, like I say, more than good enough for my game. In two crucial respects Golfshot is actually better than both Skycaddy and uPro and that is: 1) it’s much cheaper and doesn’t have any subscription fees whatsoever and 2) you can see the entire hole laid out beautifully on the iPhone’s large, color screen. You can also use your finger on the screen to drag and locate distances from various points to the green. Golfshot is also pretty cool because it’s an integrated scoring/statistics app. as well. Keeping track of my scores and stats. for each hole played was not intrusive on my game play in the least bit. My scorecard was emailed to me immediately after the round, and I can login to the Golfshot website to view my round info. and stats. on my desktop computer. Sweet! Also, one other benefit of Golfshot over Skycaddy is that Golfshot seems to have some courses in my area that SkyCaddy does not. This is probably because SkyCaddy needs permission to map courses and some private courses don’t permit it, whereas Golfshot is using satellite imagery that is available for free to the public. Download and check out Augusta National and TPC Sawgrass folks! A word about battery life – I was walking today and I got the low battery indicator on about hole #15 (with Bluetooth, 3G, WiFi and auto-lock off). Pretty good. I began locking the iPhone just to conserve battery life, and reacquiring satellites upon “awakening” the phone never took more than 5-10 seconds – plenty of time between shots for the phone to locate the satellites and give me a reading. I’ll probably get a battery extender as I’ve been needing one anyway due the iPhone’s poor battery life. Anyhow, my uPro is going back! I highly, highly, highly recommend Golfshot. My hat is off to the Golfshot developers as they hit one out of the park with this one. I just hope that once the Golfshot folks get every iPhone golfer hooked on this app., they don’t pull a fast one on us and come out with a new version that costs money to upgrade. Happy golfing!

Buy this app and lose your gps !!! Almost scratch - Version 1.0 - 7/30/2009 - United States

I have owned a sky caddie for 5 or more years. A friend showed me this app and I downloaded it during my round of golf. It appeared OK. Used it for a full round after buying an incase power slider for my iphone 3g, which is a case with a battery inside for extended battery time. I love this app. The measurements are spot on. I went home and immediately sold my SG 5. One less thing to carry and charge. The battery case for the iPhone 3g is at goincase.com, a necessity for battery life.

Goodbye skycaddie! Tim in Atlanta - Version 1.0 - 7/30/2009 - United States

I spent $200 on a skycaddie plus another $50 for a subscription, 2 weeks later I bought this app. My brother owns my skycaddie now. Golfshot does it all! No subscription, no downloading courses, and yes, I played 27 holes on one iPhone charge. Highly recommend!

Incredible. Phenomenal. Buy Now. Doesitwork - Version 1.0 - 7/29/2009 - United States

I have never reviewed an application and own over $300 worth of Apps. Buy this. First let me dispel some popular concerns people have posted about this app. 1) Battery life and Satellite acquisition: I made it through a whole 5 hour round with over 20% battery left. I did not turn off auto lock and it took no more than 10-15 seconds to acquire the satellites. If you choose to keep the phone on the whole round and in constant contact with the satellites you may run into a battery issue. I brought my 3GJuice battery extender and did not need to use it. Word to the wise, do charge your phone fully before your round. I also took 2 phone calls while on the course and checked the weather a bunch and the battery was fine. Some have said that the satellite takes to long to acquire. 2 situations arise: a) if you are in a clear spot and they are loading fast you do not need to shut off the auto lock. b) if it is loading slow read the FAQ and turn off the auto lock and it will always be in contact and you will have instant readings (downside is battery drain, which is the phones fault not the apps) 2) Accuracy: The yardage distances seemed to be spot on. I had nothing to compare them to besides my "eye" and the occasional sprinkler marker and 150 yd. marker but the yardages were absolutely accurate. 3) Scorecard: The ease of use of the scorecard as well as the wealth of data it takes and manipulates into graphs for you to visually see where you can improve your game are phenomenal. Whether it is putts per hole, GIR, fairways hit, avg. score on par 3's, 4's, and 5's, the stats are a pleasure to look at at the end of the round. I love knowing exactly where I could use the most improvement. 4) Shot-tracker: This was the only feature that took me any amount of time to figure out ( I did not read the instructions) but it works as advertised. You click the image of the ball where you hit your shot and drive the cart to where it landed and it tells you the distance (est.) of the previous shot. 5) Viewing the screen in sunlight: Not an issue, turn the brightness up and it is like using your phone outside. The maps are plenty vivid to see clearly unlike ALC333 claimed in an earlier review. Overall: Overall this program is phenomenal, large database and even has obscure courses that I would never have expected to be in the database. The only complaint I have (although very minor) is the limited zoom but that is not the applications fault it is the satellite images being used and those can only zoom so far (still plenty of zoom to see what you need to see). I coincidentally shot my best round ever using this program but it wasn't the program it was the work i put in at the range and course over the past week although I'm sure the program was responsible for a stroke or 2 purely because i was able to get the distance correct. If you need to clear that fairway bunker, just drag the target to the spot you want to clear and it will tell you how far it is to that point and how far from there to the hole. There is also a page that shows distance to front of green, back of green, and certain hazards. Conclusion: If you own an iphone and have interest in buying a skycaddie or any other independent golf gps device, I recommend you save yourself the money and hassle of carrying around multiple devices (you will have your phone with you anyway) and buy this program. Amazing.I If you are still reading this, buy it now.

Really good stuff! Fifteen handicap - Version 1.0 - 7/29/2009 - United States

A great golf app. I’m a former Golf Buddy Plus user and Golfshot is far superior. I played my first round with it on a fairly short course and GolfShot allowed me to plan my tee shot / second shot distance with ease. Ordinarily on an unfamiliar course I’d pull out the driver and bomb it. I found myself using my three wood and hybrid off the tee because I could easily pick my landing spot and second shot distance using the overhead view. The scoring and statistics are simple to use. I played a fairly long round and, using the battery recommendations, didn’t get a low-battery warning until the 18th hole. The course I played had in-cart GPS, and GolfShot was accurate within +-5 yards. The ONLY weakness was the response time on the GPS yardage. I set my pPhone to a 5-minute autolock. After bringing the program back up after ‘autolock’, it took a minute or two to get an accurate yardage. Next time I will try the ‘never’ position on auto lock, and take a spare battery back-up device just in case. Good documentation on the website. All in all, a great program.

Golfshot Stl262 - Version 1.0 - 7/28/2009 - United States

Excellent App!!!!

Don’t waste your time with other golf GPS apps… ATaccs - Version 1.0 - 7/28/2009 - United States

If you own an iPhone and love to hit the links, this app is a must-have! I’ve used stand-alone devices (Skycaddie v2.0, GolfBuddy) for my yardages and they work great since that’s what they’re intended to do, but you do plunk down a good amount of cash to get started, and with Skycaddie’s case, you have to pay an annual subscription just to use the device w/c is higher than the cost of this app- I didn’t do that this year and bought/tried this app instead and now, I’m not going back! For the price I paid for it, I have to say that I didn’t have high expectations, just expecting a no frills program that gives me approx distances but was impressed with the features… starting with easy account setup (name, email, all that jazz… mind you I didn’t read the user guide. I just like to dive right into it :) it was VERY EASY), syncing with the course library on the fly (once you’ve specified your location), and just a few taps and you are ready to play. The GPS gives you all the courses nearby and the one that you’re at will be at the top of the list, The accuracy is spot-on, The aerial views and quick-point feature is great – you can drag the circle to any point on the hole to get to and remaining yardages to the green or any hazards. The scoring and stats tracking is way nice (I included the scores of my buddies in the league and they are impressed), plus it sends via email automatically once the round is done, then you see how good or bad you were. A good feature as well, played a course with 27-holes, the app will ask you which 9s you will play and you setup the tees accordingly. Alright now the CONs, ** the app is a battery-hog, I have turned off 3G, WiFi, BT and pretty much everything else, for me the unit stays on though so it doesn’t have to re-acquire sats when its time to get yardages, and I cant get through 18-holes with a full charge… I have a battery booster that does the job though. ** To get to the Stats, the unit has to fire-up Safari. ** You cant zoom close enough on the aerial views **And just an annoying little quirk is the scorecard always pops up when the unit goes landscape, turn it upright and it goes away though… should be just an icon to pull it up. All-in-all, it’s worth it and a great app! Hope that it stays free of any subscriptions.

Golfshot stl55403 - Version 1.0 - 7/28/2009 - United States

Excellent App!!!!

Great app Tdale30 - Version 1.0 - 7/28/2009 - United States

This app is a must have!! It will help any level golfer, great accuracy, score card. Will make all ur buddies want it

Keys to a happy round of golf with Golfshot.. Guy C - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

I use a protective case made by Incase that has a built in battery so power consumption is a non-issue. Also to view the scorecard turn your iPhone to landscape and it pops up automatically... Very cool.

A Must Buy. Dan J.S - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

Like many others, this is the only review I've been compelled to write in the App Store. I have tried several other golf Stat/GPS apps and this is hands-down the best product available. I originally purchased the Scorecard app in early June and took a chance on the GPS version after the 5 Star reviews kept pouring in. First time out, standing over a sprinkler head with 179 written on it, I glanced at the phone and it read 179. Couldn't believe it. I have since stood side by side with friends holding true golf GPS units (SkyCaddie and uPro) and have found a 0-4 yd. margin of error. The scorecard functionality is brilliant and a pleasure to use on the course. It is worth the $30 on the strength of that part alone with it's integration of Phone, Email and Web Browser for stats viewing. Throw in the accuracy of the GPS and you have a no-brainer. I was thinking about getting a Skycaddie SG4, but thanks to this little devil, I saved $170. GolfShot is worth every penny. People have been disappointed with the battery drain, but if you follow the advice given in the FAQ, you'll have no issues. Conclusion: If you are looking for a great Scorecard/Stats app with GPS support accurate enough for recreational golf, buy this. If you are looking for just the Scorecard/Stats, buy that version. If you bomb like Tiger, chip like Phil and the difference between 177 and 180 is important, go hire a Looper and sign up for Q School. "You know, Looper. A Caddy. A Jock. So I tell 'em I'm a Pro Jock and who do you think they give me...the Dali Lama himself..."

Fantastic The real Krunky - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

I've been using this for about a month on different courses. At first, the GPS was loosing accuracy and taking a while to get signal. Even so, I was thinking of giving it at least 4 stars. However recently I've been getting supreme signal and accuracy. I'd say this app saves me 2 strokes a side, perhaps more.

Duffer J.M.Di - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

I have the Golf Guru GPS grey scale that is realy good and very accurate. I saw this app and since I already have the Iphone 3GS, with the price, and the course view feature, I figured I'd give it a try. I compaired it with the Guru during a round and the Golf Shot was within a yard or two of the Guru. It took about 2 to 3 seconds more than the Guru to stabilize but with the birds eye view and it's color display plus the price makes the Iphone app a better GPS. The only fault that I found is the battery issue but that isn't the fault of Golf Shot but with the Iphone. With that said if you follow the advise given in the downloaded instruction manual on their website, you can get an entire 18 hole round in on a fully charged battery. I wouldn't go out and buy an Iphone just for this app but if you already own one then this app is a great Choice over the rest of the dedicated handheld golf GPS devices that are sold at this time.

Amazing value when compared to SkyCaddy Rob Pickering - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

What a great application! I've used it on a golf course, and found the GPS updates to be a little slow (this is an iPhone 3GS), and the clarity of the "best guess" makes it too easy to select the wrong club. You really need to wait for the GPS dot to go green. Otherwise, the statistics are great, the scorecard is great, the ability to share it with other people via email is great. When putting in other golfers, the application should automatically email them the scorecard as well, it had me put in the email address, but then didn't email the card. Weird.

Almost a 5 Golfisfun - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

This is a great app. A little on the high side for price. However, compared to the commercial GPS system on the market it's only a drop in the bucket.

If you play golf, get this app. Tom McAvoy - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

While most of the other GPS golf tools cost a ton and require a monthly subscription, Golfshot GPS is an absolute steal at $30. This is a phenomenal application for the iPhone. The GPS is impressively accurate, and the scoring system is easy to use once you figure out what to touch to use it. The game analysis is incredibly useful and it automatically emails your scorecard to you and all the members of your foursome. Regardless of your handicap, this application is both useful and fun for every golfer. I HIGHLY recommend this app.

Great app Stonecold - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

Must have! Very accurate and great features!

Amazing value when compared to SkyCaddy WolviePrime - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

What a great application! I've used it on a golf course, and found the GPS updates to be a little slow (this is an iPhone 3GS), and the clarity of the "best guess" makes it too easy to select the wrong club. You really need to wait for the GPS dot to go green. Otherwise, the statistics are great, the scorecard is great, the ability to share it with other people via email is great. When putting in other golfers, the application should automatically email them the scorecard as well, it had me put in the email address, but then didn't email the card. Weird.

If you play golf, get this app. tmcavoy - Version 1.0 - 7/27/2009 - United States

While most of the other GPS golf tools cost a ton and require a monthly subscription, Golfshot GPS is an absolute steal at $30. This is a phenomenal application for the iPhone. The GPS is impressively accurate, and the scoring system is easy to use once you figure out what to touch to use it. The game analysis is incredibly useful and it automatically emails your scorecard to you and all the members of your foursome. Regardless of your handicap, this application is both useful and fun for every golfer. I HIGHLY recommend this app.