Customer Reviews - United States

Glad I held off ..and bought this J.W.A. - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

All I can say is Wow!!!! I was waiting for a great Golf gps app for the past year but, it never came.Too many mixed reviews and no course support from others. So , I was literally days away from buying the Sky caddie Sg-5 or the Callaway upro and I figured before I drop the money let's see if anymore iphone apps have gotten their crap together yet and, sure enough Someone, Finally did. After reading all the reviews i still was a little skeptical but figured it's $30 and it's still less then a 1yr skycaddie membership(Rip off) I didn't even get to a course yet and found two of my courses were not set up for actual Gps so i requested them just to see how long it would take and i recieved an email for one the same day and one the next day that my courses are ready.Now that's what i call Support. So today I Finally had a chance to test the app out and After my first round with it today I am extremely pleased and impressed.It actually does more then the other units I was gonna spend $300-400 .The guy i was playing with was so impressed with it that by the 3rd hole of our round he quickly downloaded it to his own iphone to use for the round.We found most yardages to be within 3-4 yrds with a ton of info .I had a full charge and went by the battery tips to shut off certain iphone settings and i had %40 left by end of 5 hour slow round. Wish it wouldn't eat battery as much but i keep a charger in the car and you can buy a booster adapter to clip on to your phone for the round for around $70 out there .This is still a 3rd of the cost of a sky caddie or others.I'm giving this a 4 star only because i wish the battery life was just a little better but, i doubt it's golfshot's fault for this.I also had my brightness turned down more then usual .I guess for the first time i was nervous to lose a round from dead battery but that never happened .next time i'll bump up a little to see the screen a little brighter . I'm looking forward to all the future updates also.These guys seem like they know what everyone wants . I recommend this one

Golfshot way better than ViewTI JSN88 - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

Just used Golfshot today for the first time. Up until today I was a ViewTI user. This app is better than ViewTi in almost every way. I put in a request to add my home course. After a few days (over the holiday weekend) it was up and running. The interface is intuitive and easy to operate. The GPS maps align automatically in the screen unlike other apps which require you to rotate the phone. Having the layup distances is very cool. Measuring distances to obstacles is easy. Scores are easily entered and the stats are great. I had strong signal throughout the round and the GPS was dead on to the markers on my course. This app is a great buy.

I should get a commission for the sales I made showing this off today Sandbarz - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

Wow! Found this new golf scoring software and what a deal. App loaded easily. They don't have all courses in their system yet and we have a heavy schedule of junior golf events in the state. So I let their support folks know about the courses I needed in short notice and they expedited adding them to the system. My son now wants an iPhone so he can use this, especially the GPS mapping distance information. He also loves the statistics to know where to be improving his game. >> Personal to the Golfshot support folks -> Thanks for the response and the personal (not computer generated response) emails. We're rolling now!

Worth the price GWSENIOR - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

I used Golfshot at my home course for the first time today. It was extremely accurate. You have to keep in mind, though, that it sets distances in a straight line, so you have to sometimes ignore the course yardage markers on sprinkler heads, etc. Also, to save battery strength, I had my iPhone 3G set to time out after one minute (after each shot). It may take a little time for the GPS to load again (about 15 seconds) when you get to your ball, but the battery savings is worth it. My round lasted 4 hrs 10 min, and I only used up about 35% of the battery. This application is well worth the price.

Fantastic!!! lives_4_golf - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

I've never reviewed an app before but this is the single greatest app I've purchased to date. My skycaddie sg4 is now up for sale on ebay, it just doesn't hold a candle to this app (which is a fraction of the price by the way). The only thing people should be wary of is that given a completely full battery charge the iPhone will only last about 4 hours when running this app, so you may or may not make it through a full round without a boost. I purchased a battery sleeve to solve that problem, now at the end of my round the sleeve's dead but my phone's still fully charged. What did I ever do without an iPhone...

I love this application! Noctivagan - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

Well, that says it all, I love this application. The interface is clean and easy to use (there's online documentation now too), it's quick to enter scores and find distances. I do find that to be really accurate you have to wait for the green light in the lower left corner, but it only takes a few seconds. I click my iPhone screen off between holes and find I have plenty of battery, I even get calls and email. Initially my course was not available. I sent email with a picture of the score card and in less than 24 hours the course was available. My course is kind of unique, the tips are par 70 the other tees are par 72. The initial Golfshot scorecard had all tees as par 70. I submitted a problem report (right from the application!) and within 24 hours it was fixed. Talk about great customer service. When I first used this application I was having a pretty good round. I wanted to print out the scorecard after the round. Realizing the iPhone has no printing capabilities (that I know of) I thought I would send a suggestion to the application team when I finished. Low and behold, when I finished my round the scorecard was EMAILED TO ME! What a perfect solution to an iPhone limitation. In fact, I played with a friend today who may buy an iPhone just so he can have this application! Great work, keep it up!

Great golf app.... A few suggestions to make it even better! ROBERT J DUBE - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

This is an amazing app. Acuracy is just as good as the expensive gps gadgets. Stood right at the 150 marker along with a skycaddy and this app was dead on 150, while the skycaddy was reading 154. A few things that could make this app even better would be integration of a handicap calculator based on USGA requirements. Also, and I'm not sure if this one is possible, a button that automatically turns off 3g, wifi, and Bluetooth. Still gets five stars in my opinion but these would be some cool additions. Keep up the good work!

Great Application Brian Weis - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

Few additions would be sweet.

Great Golf app!!!! Mr. zOoLaNdEr - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

Soooo easy to use, I have tried a few other golf gps apps but none compare to this. Worth every penny, scoring multiple people and yourself is a piece of cake and the way each arial view is fitted and oriented to fit the screen makes course knowlege podsible the very first round. Another excellent feature is the customizable layup distances, these make long par 5's a snap. Overall a very impressive app.

Great golf app.... A few suggestions to make it even better! Rjdube86 - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

This is an amazing app. Acuracy is just as good as the expensive gps gadgets. Stood right at the 150 marker along with a skycaddy and this app was dead on 150, while the skycaddy was reading 154. A few things that could make this app even better would be integration of a handicap calculator based on USGA requirements. Also, and I'm not sure if this one is possible, a button that automatically turns off 3g, wifi, and Bluetooth. Still gets five stars in my opinion but these would be some cool additions. Keep up the good work!

Great Application brianweis - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

Few additions would be sweet.

Awesome Golf GPS App! Billy Hardin - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

I've owned a SkyCaddie for the past 2 years and this app blows it out of the water! Used it for the first time this past weekend and it was everything I expected and more. To be able to get distances off of any point on any hole is truly amazing and so helpful. The scorecard part of the app makes it over the top! I can only imagine what further updates would bring.

Awesome App! bruce3141 - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

This is the iPhone at it's best, replacing hardware with software! Compare to the price of the SkyCaddie! Very functional and fantastic using this app on the course. Great user service too: I requested a couple of obscure courses in WV and within about 24 hrs they were available!

Awesome app Walt Krzystek - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

Read the manual before getting to the course to smooth out a few small things that aren't intuitive. Played 1st round today and this is an unbelievable app. Loved the scorekeeper for the entire group and the stats were cool. Played 5 hour round and had 40% battery when done. Disabled 3G and wifi. Took 5 - 15 secs to get gps signal after screen lock. Unlocked as I walked up to ball and had good yardages when I was ready. Can't wait to use it next time out.

The best golf gps app currently available. Dray24 - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

Extremely happy with this app.

Amazing app Weigells - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

This application is by far the best golf rangefinder available. I have used all the laser rangefinders in addition to all the gps gadgets on the market. If you have a 3g or 3gs iphone you would be wise to spend the $30 rather than ten times that amount on the dedicated gps rangefinders on the market. I have checked the accuracy and it is witin a few feet. The scorecard is very intuitive and useful. This app was definately developed by golfers who know and appreciate the game.

Awesome Golf GPS App! 643coach - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

I've owned a SkyCaddie for the past 2 years and this app blows it out of the water! Used it for the first time this past weekend and it was everything I expected and more. To be able to get distances off of any point on any hole is truly amazing and so helpful. The scorecard part of the app makes it over the top! I can only imagine what further updates would bring.

Awesome app Wkrzystek - Version 1.0 - 7/6/2009 - United States

Read the manual before getting to the course to smooth out a few small things that aren't intuitive. Played 1st round today and this is an unbelievable app. Loved the scorekeeper for the entire group and the stats were cool. Played 5 hour round and had 40% battery when done. Disabled 3G and wifi. Took 5 - 15 secs to get gps signal after screen lock. Unlocked as I walked up to ball and had good yardages when I was ready. Can't wait to use it next time out.

Very impressive mem0730 - Version 1.0 - 7/4/2009 - United States

This program is easy to use and doesn't interfere with phone usage. I am still trying to discover all the features but for score tracking and simple stats such as putts, greens in regulation and the like it's great. I own a Golfbuddy GPS and it doesn't compare. No problems with battery life or on-course visibility. I'm very impressed and am happy to have this app.

LOVE IT!!!! Britboy38 - Version 1.0 - 7/4/2009 - United States

Have been considering buying a golf GPS device for a number of months but unsure about shelling out $300+ for a good make (plus yearly costs for courses or individual course cost to download). Decided to buy this for $30, and if it was no good then buy a 300+ golf GPS system. Today used it for the first time on a course I've never played before and could not be happier. Yardages seemed pretty much spot on (stood on sprinkler heads and was within +-3 yards every time) and the information was more than enough for me (high 80's golfer). If I was a scratch golfer or a low single digit player then a 300+ device may provide additional information that was useful but for me knowing how far to the front and back edge of the green (they don't put sprinkler heads where I hit the ball sometimes, lol) and how far to clear the bunkers was more than enough. I varied between leaving the phone on and also turning the Iphone off between shots and it barely took 5-10 seconds every time I turned it back on to realign with the satellites. My phone was fully charged at the beginning of the round and I had plenty of charge at the end. Based on prior reviews I checked the courses in my area (Dallas) and it covered every course I have ever played and would probably every play, and I play a lot of municipal courses. I'm unsure about these reviews saying it was off by 50 yards, lack of courses, and time to acquire a satellite, it worked so great then I'm tempted to believe these reviews might be written by people working for Golf GPS makers selling them for 300+. I'm really happy that I saved $270, I've had my Iphone for 3 weeks and as long as I own the phone its going to be hard to believe I'm going to find a better application. PS Can't wait for the release of Q*Bert, love old school arcade games currently have Pacman, Galaga, and Missile Command!

Works great with i touch/pod AzzurriGolf - Version 1.0 - 7/4/2009 - United States

No gps but very satified with this range finder app. Scorecard is user friendly and stat recording is great! Sure glad I purchased!

Everything You Want - And Great Service Too! Chartwiz - Version 1.0 - 7/4/2009 - United States

What a GREAT app! This stands up to any $300 "device" that fellow golfers paid for. The distances are always within 2-4 yards (when I need more than that, I will quit my day gig). The GPS measures to front, back, mid-green and bunkers from anywhere (even 10 miles away) and the aerial view lets me play with "what if" views on my next shot. The stats and scorecard are a bonus - it can automatically track fairways hit, putts, bogies, pars, etc. Best of all - the service is fast and personal. My course added new tees last year, so I scanned a new card and the Golfshot people updated everything within hours! Plus they sent a link to a great pdf user guide with picture instructions to help get the most out of it. This is a great find!

Just as good as skycaddie Jonathan Sung - Version 1.0 - 7/3/2009 - United States

This is by far the best bang for your buck when it comes to range finders. I golfed with a buddy that used the skycaddie sg5 and the numbers where basically identical when it came to yardage. The interface is clean, intuitive and easy to use. Definitely easy on the battery life of the phone too! I played an entire 18 and still had 50% battery left. For any seriours golfer out there that can't justify dropping 500 bucks on a single use device, this is your solution!!! I love it.

BETTER THAN SG5!!! Rsgolfnut - Version 1.0 - 7/3/2009 - United States

I am AMAZED! I own an SG5 and it will be on Ebay tonight. The bonus is I'll make 10x what I paid for this app that is BETTER than the SG5. The aerial views are great, scoring system easy and detailed, and course selection as good as SG5! I keyed in my par after finishing 18 and was amazed that my detailed scorecard was instantly emailed to me! I was a skeptic, but now I'm a believer. BUY IT...well worth it and what a bonus for golfers with iPhones. AWESOME job on this app folks...keep up the great work!

Was skeptical and then amazed Christian Hon - Version 1.0 - 7/3/2009 - United States

Most apps fall short of what you think they will be capale of. Golfshot did not. Not only is the interface very easy to use and the statistical data interesting, their customer service is top notch. I submitted several courses and all were uploaded within days. When there was a problem with one of my uploads, they fixed it quickly with a great explanation of what happened. The accuracy of the GPS is perfect with a good signal and battery drain is not as bad as I expected This is the most impressive app I've downloaded. Very Impressed