Customer Reviews

Great golf app Jeremy12345 - Version 1.2 - 8/25/2009 - United States

This is the best available. Every course I have played has been available. Most GPS gadgets cost $200 and up, this is a great value and easy to use. Great value, courses and yardage are accurate.

Works as Advertised davedwilliams - Version 1.2 - 8/25/2009 - United States

A pleasure to use and easily worth the price, especially when considering competitive apps that assess an annual fee that is equal to this one-time charge. I played a round today using the app for the first time and found the scorecard feature to be effortless and just as quick as filling out a paper card. I repeatedly compared GPS distances against my "never-been-wrong" Callaway-Nikon laser rangefinder and found the Golfshot distances to be within an acceptable margin of accuracy (+/- 2 yards) of the laser rangefinder. The good: - The UI is intuitive and simple enough that it won't slow down play - The post round stats are great, even though it requires an internet connection to view them. - the accuracy of the GPS is excellent - the aerial views of the holes are especially helpful on an unfamiliar course The bad: - A battery hog. Even if you follow all the battery-saving tips that are listed in the user manual, you had better show up at the course with a full charge. If you want to leave the app displaying the entire time (even between shots) for quicker GPS reads, you will need a battery pack. (I used my TruePower iPhone battery pack) and it consumed almost 3/4s of that pack's charge. Again, this was without following the power-saving tips, but even if you do everything they suggest you will test the limits of your iPhone's battery. (Mine was a 3G with Wi-Fi and Notifications turned off during the round.) - It takes a few seconds after you have reached your ball for the GPS to re-calibrate accurately the distance, so be patient for an accurate read. No sweat if you get to your ball and are ready to play before it's your turn to hit, but if you're one of those other types, your friends will now have something else to blame for your slow play. - Wish the app could store in the stats those shots that you choose to measure the distance-hit. Right now, for example, you can use the app to tell you how far a particular drive went, but you can't save that info for statistical tracking. Overall, the bad points take off only one star in my book. A very fine app, which I will enjoy using. Nice going Shotzoom.

Who needs a skycaddie Bamagirl75 - Version 1.0 - 8/25/2009 - United States

For the $$ this app is great. So much more info than a any GPS device. The scorecard and statistics are wonderful tools. If you don't see your desired corse, just request it. You must read their suggestions on saving battery power or you won't get through your round. That needs improvement. Hard to see screen in bright light.

Golfshot GPS Anthony Cunningham - Version 1.2 - 8/25/2009 - United States

WOW... adding to my earlier review.. I put this app thru a serious workout today on two seperate courses ( Empire Lakes and Mountain Meadows) and I took the time to validate ALL the available features.

Pakuranga Country Club KokeK - Version 1.2 - 8/25/2009 - New Zealand

Has been loaded but is currently listed as being in Australia not Auckland New Zealand :-(

Everything was fine until I upgraded to version 1.2 Youval Z - Version 1.2 - 8/24/2009 - Canada

When I puchased this app I felt like it was the best app out there for tracking your score, checking a hole's properties, and viewing an aerial photo of one particular hole. Since the upgrade, downloading the aerial photo of the hole has become so much slower because Google requires their maps to be downloaded anytime it is used instead of having it saved in the system's cache. So for each hole I have to wait about 35 secs to 2 minutes for the photo to load. Too long. I wish I had never upgraded. Great app nonetheless.

Nearly there...! Sdlr - Version 1.2 - 8/24/2009 - United Kingdom

Great app. However:

Golfshot bopbeaver - Version 1.0 - 8/24/2009 - United States

What an App. I own a skycaddie 4 that I paid $350.00 for and this App makes it look like a kid's toy. My riding golf partner could not stop raving about it also.

nmkemr01 nmkemr01 - Version 1.2 - 8/24/2009 - United States

I would recommend this app. I have played golf for over 50 years and have seen several gps range finders. This one works as well as any of the others. I went to the nationwide tour Friday and compaired the yardage of several holes. Within 3 yards each time. Two times same yardage as the markers.

Everything was fine until I upgraded to version 1.2 Youval - Version 1.2 - 8/24/2009 - Canada

When I puchased this app I felt like it was the best app out there for tracking your score, checking a hole's properties, and viewing an aerial photo of one particular hole. Since the upgrade, downloading the aerial photo of the hole has become so much slower because Google requires their maps to be downloaded anytime it is used instead of having it saved in the system's cache. So for each hole I have to wait about 35 secs to 2 minutes for the photo to load. Too long. I wish I had never upgraded. Great app nonetheless.

It Doesn't Get Much Easier Than This! Christopher Hauk - Version 1.2 - 8/23/2009 - United States

I was worried an app of this type would tend to get in the way of concentrating on my game. I read the reviews and decided to blow the bucks to get it. I tried it my next round of golf, and all I can say is Wow! It's simple to set up, and even simpler to use during your round. The GPS was within 2 - 3 yards of my buddies expensive GPS unit, and gave me more usable information. I entered my buddy as a player, the app had me select him from my address book, which I thought was a cool feature. It was even cooler when we stopped for dinner after the round, and he was checking his email, only to find Golfshot had emailed him his score! Great features, more than worth the cost!

All I can say is WOW.. geng pongpeauh - Version 1.2 - 8/23/2009 - United States

Amazing app.

Better than Sonocaddie, dont waste your money if you have this phone. Weins201 - Version 1.2 - 8/23/2009 - United States

I recently purchased a Sonocaddie GPS and have been trying to contact them a few times and ways to get it returned to them. It was constanly 20 - 40 yards off, what good is that. I just fired up this app yesturday and played it today was GREAT, right on target and after the scorecard if stored and accessible. I just need to get an extra power source for if i go two rounds. GTEAR APP ty.

This is the one you want Captain Tal - Version 1.2 - 8/23/2009 - United States

I have tried nearly all of them and there isn't a close second.

It Doesn't Get Much Easier Than This! Kal El Prime - Version 1.2 - 8/23/2009 - United States

I was worried an app of this type would tend to get in the way of concentrating on my game. I read the reviews and decided to blow the bucks to get it. I tried it my next round of golf, and all I can say is Wow! It's simple to set up, and even simpler to use during your round. The GPS was within 2 - 3 yards of my buddies expensive GPS unit, and gave me more usable information. I entered my buddy as a player, the app had me select him from my address book, which I thought was a cool feature. It was even cooler when we stopped for dinner after the round, and he was checking his email, only to find Golfshot had emailed him his score! Great features, more than worth the cost!

All I can say is WOW.. Geng - Version 1.2 - 8/23/2009 - United States

Amazing app.

Golfshot (v1.0) Ackroyd - Version 1.0 - 8/22/2009 - United Kingdom

At first i was very hesitant on spending £17.99 on this app, but I'm so glad I did. It is extremely accurate and will shave a couple of shots off my round. It's also good to know exactly how far you hit each shot which makes it easier when faced with a similar shot but on a different hole.

Fantastic app dudeoji1025 - Version 1.2 - 8/22/2009 - United States

I've been use this for 2month. What a Fantastic program.

Guru Dravin - Version 1.2 - 8/22/2009 - United States

I have a golf guru and this app is better. The distance between the two are almost equal. I highly recommend this app! It also has every course I have played so far in Vegas.

Best golf GPS ever. SunnySanDiego - Version 1.2 - 8/22/2009 - United States

Just finished my first round with the iPhone as a gps. This gps app was on the money, I shot my best round ever. 73. Can't say it was all the gps of course but it really helps knowing the distance. First time playing this course by the way.

Simply Amazing bapohl - Version 1.0 - 8/22/2009 - United States

Incredible app. Unbelievable at current price. There are a few enhancements I could suggest, but very solid app as-is. Compares very well with the $400 dedicated units. Only advantages I can see for those is that they are typically waterproof, and may have bettter battery life (an iPhone issue, not a problem with the app).

Golfshot (v1.0) craig ackroyd - Version 1.0 - 8/22/2009 - United Kingdom

At first i was very hesitant on spending £17.99 on this app, but I'm so glad I did. It is extremely accurate and will shave a couple of shots off my round. It's also good to know exactly how far you hit each shot which makes it easier when faced with a similar shot but on a different hole.

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! Nikesumo_hunter - Version 1.0 - 8/21/2009 - United States

1. I asked for a course and got it within five days.

Go get this Yetanotherblob - Version 1.2 - 8/21/2009 - United Kingdom

This is one hell of an application everything said previously is true, it really does work and works well. With regard the battery issue, download the full instructions from golfshot onto your pc and it tells you how to preserve battery life during your round, I did it and it lasted 18 holes no prob. Get yourself a cheap phone holder, attach it to your trolley and away you go.

Excellent App 17HS - Version 1.2 - 8/21/2009 - United Kingdom

A superb product and I can only echo the other comments. Accurate and easy to use. Does all I need.