Customer Reviews

add ability to score money games Scott R - Version 1.0 - 7/11/2009 - Canada

I already gave this a 5 star rating and review. I agree with one of the other reviewers and would like to see this enhanced with game tracking. Great work Shotzoom guys...

Great app tflats99 - Version 1.0 - 7/11/2009 - United States

My subscription was up on skycaddie, so I switched over to this. First couple of rounds were tough getting through b/c of the battery. I turned off WiFi and it was just fine. Since it only takes a few seconds to grab a gps connection, I hit the lock button a lot to turn off the screen... That helped a bit as well.

Best app by far!!! Loving Golfshot GPS - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

This is simply the best app out there! Very worth the price. Better than those expensive GPS systems...i.e. Skycaddie. Has ever course in my town, my family's town, and where I'm going on vacation!

I have a few golf apps, but THIS one takes the cake! Jay Colson - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

I have a few golf apps ... I've spent way too much money on :-) But THIS app is truly worth it... I don't have anything negative to say about it at this time, and I've used it at the last three courses that I golfed at! Woot! Good job Shotzoom Software!

Buy It! SecurityMonster - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

Great application! GPS is very accurate. I can leave this in the cup holder or my back pocket and get accurate distance readings quickly! Everybody is jealous of me on the golf course. I always hated looking through a $350 scope for distance. This is so cheap, and no monthly subscriptions. Buy it already!

Gps .. Wow Ping ting - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

This is my first review on a iPhone app. I had to say something.. I was just getting the app for the stat function.. I assumed that the upro that I just bought was superior than the simple little iPhone app. Boy was I wrong!!! This app is amazing.. Now I truely know how bad of a golfer I am.. No really good job on creating this app.. Now my only concern is if I can return my upro gps that I bought for 499 6 months ago.

Great App!! Golfnut24 - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

As an avid golfer that plays once or twice a week and was looking into the sky caddie, I can stop looking. For the price and what you get is insane. I just played a round with a friend that had the sky caddie and the distances were exactly the same or very close and you dont have to pay for a subscription!! Scoring was very easy to use for me and my friend. Turn the iphone to landscape the scorecard pops up. I heard that it can drain your battery but I played a 4 hour round and used it everyhole and used the scoring and was left about 50% when the round was over(I did start with a full charge). Then when the round was over to my suprise the scorecard was emailed to me, very cool. This app is a must have for all golfers!

5 stars considering cost, 3 or 4 for performance. eyefoner2 - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

I was surprised by all the reviews saying this app was better than skycaddie, so I picked it up yesterday. I turned off bluetooth, 3g, wireless etc...turned the brightness way down and set the phone to never go to sleep. Battery wasn't a terrible issue, but I would probably buy a battery pack if I was going to use it all the time. It is a nice app, and great for the price, but in most aspects doesn't match the speed and precision of the SG5. It was often 2-6 yards off of my skycaddie - not too bad, but the lag time for it to 'catch up' was sometimes annoying. Obviously a fault of the weak chip in the phone ( I really can't see how they are ever going to get turn by turn nav to work with it when it takes 10 seconds to update your position). The ability to move the skycaddie 'target' on the green and get the front-pin-back distances on line with the flag was much easier and more accurate on the skycaddie. Due to the shape of some greens, this app was sometimes off 10 yards or more to the 'front' on line with the pin. They really need a green view feature where the whole screen is the green. It would make it more precise moving the circle on the green around to get better readings. The only time I could see it really beating the skycaddie was with aerial views on tricky holes you've never played before. The scorecard feature was great and it makes it very easy to track your performance. It should definitely get skycaddie moving on creating a more slick display and scorecard features if they are going to continue charging $350.00. But bottom line is that I had both running and by the end of the round I was referring exclusively to my skycaddie. For the price though, can't be beat!

I have a few golf apps, but THIS one takes the cake! BlackNTan - Version 1.0 - 7/10/2009 - United States

I have a few golf apps ... I've spent way too much money on :-) But THIS app is truly worth it... I don't have anything negative to say about it at this time, and I've used it at the last three courses that I golfed at! Woot! Good job Shotzoom Software!

golfshot aotearoan - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - New Zealand

One of many golf apps, this one is easy to use, fast, and my home course in New Zealand was available overnight. While it may not have lowered my scores - I am the envy of my fellow players.

Incredible software here... MUST HAVE for a golfer who owns iPhone 3G or 3GS Jeff Barnes - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

I just downloaded Golfshot today after having downloaded ViewTi earlier this week (use ViewTi for one round) - this software is incredible. The interface is sweet and intuitive... the GPS yardages are reliably accurate.... and the scorecard and stack tracking will undoubtedly help you improve your game. I dare to say, within the same round. Knowing what u are doing well and where u are coming up short in a round is critical to improvement. This app easily lets u see those things, keep your score, and helps you dial in your yardages. This app WILL help you play smarter and better golf... and isn't that the goal....?

Worth $300!!! LeffCaryNC - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

I purchased and used Golfshot yesterday and it was everything I wanted in a portable golf GPS. It showed a static picture of the hole I was playing so there was no waiting for data transfer like other applications. Click on the golf ball icon when you are teeing off and it will track how far your drive was when you arrive at your ball. The scorekeeping was easy. I just made it through 18 holes on a fully charged phone (turn off WiFi, 3G and Bluetooth before you start). This had everything I wanted in a standalone unit and I look at it having saved me a $300 purchase instead of costing $30 dollars. You will be happy with this product.

Unbelievable!! Lev Naginsky - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

I was very skeptical when I downloaded this b/c $30 is not cheap for just an iPhone app but then I thought that a skycaddie can cost upwards of $200-$300 so it made sense. I found all 5-7 courses that I usually play around my house and after trying the application at one of those I was amazed at how good the interface is and how accurate the information was. I compared the yardages to a guy in my foursome with a skycaddie and the numbers matched up every time. Very happy with this app and would STRONGLY recommend downloading it (just make sure the courses you play are listed).. Well done developers!

IMPRESSED!!! Kyle_46901 - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

Used once, first time I played the course...very accurate yardage helped a lot. Speed of system good.

Great app! One problem. O'bomber - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

The only real problem that I've encountered while using this app. All of the other people you are playing with ask you to come over to their ball and give them their yardage. I now walk twice as far as I used to. Thanks for the great tool.

wow golf shot antnee2611 - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

This is my 1st review. I usually do not bother. I had to brag about this. I played a round with a guy who had bought a GPS system and paid over $200. 00 dollars.Mine was just as good only better because I did not pay $200.00. I give it 5 stars.

Great app! One problem. Jeffrey Lees - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

The only real problem that I've encountered while using this app. All of the other people you are playing with ask you to come over to their ball and give them their yardage. I now walk twice as far as I used to. Thanks for the great tool.

Incredible software here... MUST HAVE for a golfer who owns iPhone 3G or 3GS jscottbarnes - Version 1.0 - 7/9/2009 - United States

I just downloaded Golfshot today after having downloaded ViewTi earlier this week (use ViewTi for one round) - this software is incredible. The interface is sweet and intuitive... the GPS yardages are reliably accurate.... and the scorecard and stack tracking will undoubtedly help you improve your game. I dare to say, within the same round. Knowing what u are doing well and where u are coming up short in a round is critical to improvement. This app easily lets u see those things, keep your score, and helps you dial in your yardages. This app WILL help you play smarter and better golf... and isn't that the goal....?

I should get a commission for the sales I made showing this off today Paul Ingram - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

Wow! Found this new golf scoring software and what a deal. App loaded easily. They don't have all courses in their system yet and we have a heavy schedule of junior golf events in the state. So I let their support folks know about the courses I needed in short notice and they expedited adding them to the system. My son now wants an iPhone so he can use this, especially the GPS mapping distance information. He also loves the statistics to know where to be improving his game. >> Personal to the Golfshot support folks -> Thanks for the response and the personal (not computer generated response) emails. We're rolling now!

GolfShot The Best Lon - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

This is a great application. I have reviewed them all and GolfShot is

Glad I held off ..and bought this J.W.A. - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

All I can say is Wow!!!! I was waiting for a great Golf gps app for the past year but, it never came.Too many mixed reviews and no course support from others. So , I was literally days away from buying the Sky caddie Sg-5 or the Callaway upro and I figured before I drop the money let's see if anymore iphone apps have gotten their crap together yet and, sure enough Someone, Finally did. After reading all the reviews i still was a little skeptical but figured it's $30 and it's still less then a 1yr skycaddie membership(Rip off) I didn't even get to a course yet and found two of my courses were not set up for actual Gps so i requested them just to see how long it would take and i recieved an email for one the same day and one the next day that my courses are ready.Now that's what i call Support. So today I Finally had a chance to test the app out and After my first round with it today I am extremely pleased and impressed.It actually does more then the other units I was gonna spend $300-400 .The guy i was playing with was so impressed with it that by the 3rd hole of our round he quickly downloaded it to his own iphone to use for the round.We found most yardages to be within 3-4 yrds with a ton of info .I had a full charge and went by the battery tips to shut off certain iphone settings and i had %40 left by end of 5 hour slow round. Wish it wouldn't eat battery as much but i keep a charger in the car and you can buy a booster adapter to clip on to your phone for the round for around $70 out there .This is still a 3rd of the cost of a sky caddie or others.I'm giving this a 4 star only because i wish the battery life was just a little better but, i doubt it's golfshot's fault for this.I also had my brightness turned down more then usual .I guess for the first time i was nervous to lose a round from dead battery but that never happened .next time i'll bump up a little to see the screen a little brighter . I'm looking forward to all the future updates also.These guys seem like they know what everyone wants . I recommend this one

Golfshot way better than ViewTI JSN88 - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

Just used Golfshot today for the first time. Up until today I was a ViewTI user. This app is better than ViewTi in almost every way. I put in a request to add my home course. After a few days (over the holiday weekend) it was up and running. The interface is intuitive and easy to operate. The GPS maps align automatically in the screen unlike other apps which require you to rotate the phone. Having the layup distances is very cool. Measuring distances to obstacles is easy. Scores are easily entered and the stats are great. I had strong signal throughout the round and the GPS was dead on to the markers on my course. This app is a great buy.

I should get a commission for the sales I made showing this off today Sandbarz - Version 1.0 - 7/8/2009 - United States

Wow! Found this new golf scoring software and what a deal. App loaded easily. They don't have all courses in their system yet and we have a heavy schedule of junior golf events in the state. So I let their support folks know about the courses I needed in short notice and they expedited adding them to the system. My son now wants an iPhone so he can use this, especially the GPS mapping distance information. He also loves the statistics to know where to be improving his game. >> Personal to the Golfshot support folks -> Thanks for the response and the personal (not computer generated response) emails. We're rolling now!

Worth the price GWSENIOR - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

I used Golfshot at my home course for the first time today. It was extremely accurate. You have to keep in mind, though, that it sets distances in a straight line, so you have to sometimes ignore the course yardage markers on sprinkler heads, etc. Also, to save battery strength, I had my iPhone 3G set to time out after one minute (after each shot). It may take a little time for the GPS to load again (about 15 seconds) when you get to your ball, but the battery savings is worth it. My round lasted 4 hrs 10 min, and I only used up about 35% of the battery. This application is well worth the price.

Fantastic!!! lives_4_golf - Version 1.0 - 7/7/2009 - United States

I've never reviewed an app before but this is the single greatest app I've purchased to date. My skycaddie sg4 is now up for sale on ebay, it just doesn't hold a candle to this app (which is a fraction of the price by the way). The only thing people should be wary of is that given a completely full battery charge the iPhone will only last about 4 hours when running this app, so you may or may not make it through a full round without a boost. I purchased a battery sleeve to solve that problem, now at the end of my round the sleeve's dead but my phone's still fully charged. What did I ever do without an iPhone...