Customer Reviews - United States

The best golf app, but needs a few more improvements. michael1one - Version 1.2 - 9/27/2009 - United States

I just bought golf shot and love it. I have (or had) the sky caddie, sonocaddie, golfcard for iphone, and viewti for iphone. Compared to these products, this app holds its own. Generally I don’t write long winded reviews because I have too many other things that I can do with my time. However, I figured if you make the next version better, it only helps me play better. Here are my suggestions for the next version. 1. It doesn't list the distance to the front and rear of greens. and it doesn't zoom in enough. 2.This is probably the most important request. When you activate the touchpoint to determine if the front and back of green,(or for any layup point) it doesn’t give you the option of turning it off so that you can get the get the distances to the center of the green 3.The gps in the iphone is inherently slower, expecially when it has to reaquire the satellites if you turn off the phone. It tends to give incorrect readings (which look correct) for about 30 sec. I was fooled on a few holes and was pretty unhappy. I guess it would be nice to visually cue to see if there are enough satellites acquired. Perhaps as a strength meter next to the distance yardage at the top of the screen. It isn't the apps fault that the iphone is giving incorrect numbers, but it would be great to get a sense of how confident that number is . Skycaddie and sonocaddie are don't have this lag. 4.The a battery life is really an issue. I can seldom finish 18 holes even with my 3Gs on a full charge. I would suggest that you sell some from your website or give links to products that offer external batteries for the iphone. I bought an external battery charger (on ebay) which is a necessity. 5. There is no way to jump to a specific hole. So you have to scroll through 19 screens if you want to start on the 10th hole. Not great for shotgun, back nine rounds, or just skipping holes. 6.The blue, yellow, red is the only way you can tell if it is a par 3,4, or 5 hole. Putting the par and distance would be great. 7.It had to turn off the function that shows the score card when the phone is sideways. It is nice but distracting when I put the phone down or in my pocket. Unfortunately, without this shortcut, viewing your scorecard is a pain. 8.Great job on score entry. It is better than most other golf apps. 9.It would be nice to shorten the back nine screen on the score card screen so that you can see the 18 hole totals. (this is what you normally have on a paper score card.) Currently with golfshot, you have to scroll between 3 screens to see the whole score card. You can differentiate the 18 hole column by using a different color. 10.The stats section is great. I love the ability to email people. I think that my friends will all want to buy the golfcard after they get their score in the email. You should send them the color figures from the primary users game so that they can see what they are missing. Also throw in a $5 dollar referral discount. 11.GolfCard app has the ability to map out courses. I used it to map out driving ranges so I don’t need my laser range finder any more. It would be nice if Golfshot had the same. Overall, it a probably the best golf app. The high pricetag means that it has to offer that much more than other apps. I think future versions willl make this a 5 star app.

Great app Peter Slavin - Version 1.2 - 9/27/2009 - United States

Excellent GPS and scoring functions. On line stats very helpful.

you can't go wrong. Real_Bink - Version 1.2 - 9/27/2009 - United States

So I purchased this app. to replace my "Golf Guru" gps. First I played nine holes to get familiarized with it. Today I played eighteen holes and MAN, was this great to have. I have an iPhone 3Gs; I left home with 94% battery life and finished eighteen holes with 34% battery left. I turned off my Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and e-mail to save the battery. That helped tremendously. I also powered off as much as I could between shots. The accuracy is within a few yards which is more than accurate enough for me. I golf for fun not a living. The only complaint I have is learning to be patient and allowing the gps to get my true location. It takes about ten seconds. Otherwise, I'm glad I made this purchase. The best $30.00 I've spent on golf so far. The features are the same as all the expensive stand alone units. You can’t go wrong with this app.

Having a problem with Google Maps... GJBabyBlue - Version 1.2 - 9/25/2009 - United States

My Google Maps of the courses looks really funky right now. Also, I think an easy back button would be helpful. Other than that, five stars.

Wow WoodyCamp - Version 1.2 - 9/24/2009 - United States

Just buy it. Sell your rangefinder and bushnell laser. They don't keep score/stats and are$$$$$. This app is outstanding. Also it's idiot proof.

GPS yardages are not as good as rangefinder Rick H1.4 - Version 1.2 - 9/24/2009 - United States

First, let me state my bias up front: like most low-handicap players, there is one number that matters the most to me by far, namely the distance to the pin. Hence, I prefer laser range finders to GPS devices. Having said that, I think this is a very decent GPS app, which appears to have a lot more functionality than other similar apps or devices (like Sky Caddy) I particularly like the aerial photo of each hole, which is very nice when playing a course for the first time. The stats function is not my cup of tea, but it seems reasonably well designed. My major complaint, which is probably more of a GPS issue, is that yardages are very noisy. For example, if I want to measure the distance of last shot (something I cannot easily do with rangefinder), I notice that, even before I move from the position where I started the measurement, I am showing over 10 yard distance as GPS tries to lock in. As an experiment, I tried this on a hole where I could easily get a very accurate laser measurement of my drive distance. I clocked 262 yards with laser, 257 (after it finally settled down) with GPS -- acceptable. A week later, I made exactly the same measurement, and got 222 yards instead of the laser 262 yards -- unacceptable. I am pleased I bought the app, and would do so again. But it will not replace my rangefinder

Worth every penny!! BELAGUE - Version 1.2 - 9/23/2009 - United States

Best app ever. Just as described. Better than sonocaddie...

Fore Stars Notwhatiexpected - Version 1.2 - 9/23/2009 - United States

My game has improved since the purchased. That's all that counts.

Wow......What an app........ crownpointegolfer - Version 1.2 - 9/21/2009 - United States

I have used this app several times now and it is very good. The distances are very close to to a skycaddie SG4 (three to six yards difference). The stats and scorecard are really helpful and easy to enter. I enter the stats between tee boxes. The app does eat up the battery even when the gps powersave mode is on. When phone is allowed to time out, it saves a lot of battery power, but gps takes a few minutes to re-engage and can sometimes be a little frustrating. I bought a backup battery/charger and use that when my battery gets to 20%. Overall, well worth the one time fee and no annual fee is a huge + for me. Highly recommend this app. I intend to look at other apps as well, including golflogix.

Unbelivable! Dailyhacker - Version 1.2 - 9/19/2009 - United States

Been using it for nearly three months...I golf at least once a week a different courses. I was about to drop ~$350 on a range finder or gps unit and decided to give this a shot due to it being inexpensive. What a surprise. This app saved me $$$. It does what I need it to do.

Great app!! Jms33 - Version 1.2 - 9/19/2009 - United States

Very accurate and worth every penny. Have used for over 3 months and could not be any happier. Don't hesitate to buy this great golf gps!!

Great App Considering the Alternative is Way More Expensive ksquire - Version 1.2 - 9/18/2009 - United States

This app is $29.99, which sounds like a lot considering so many apps out there are free or less than $3. However, taking into account what this does and the cost of alternative units that cost hundreds of dollars, this app is cheap. For the most part, the yardages are fairly accurate. I shoot in the 90's so to be off by 10 yards or so doesn't hurt me--might be a bigger deal for those who shoot in the 70's or lower. Several times I have had to shoot from nearby a fairway yardage marker and the reading that I got from this app was within a yard or two of what the marker said--that ain't bad. The biggest benfit this app has over golflogix is that you get a view of the entire hole layout from tee to green. I downloaded the golflogix app and thank goodness they give you a 24-hour freebie. It had good visuals and the yardage seemed good, but i need to have something that provides the hole layout--especially when playing a course for the first time. Golfshot gives you that along with layup markers, distances to bunkers, etc. It's a very handy app. Another great benefit of this app is the scoring engine. It keeps track of fairways hit, greens in regulation, penalty shots, sand shots, and number of putts. It also saves your scores, e-mails them to you, and automatically keeps track of your handicap. When I first started entering this information, I thought it was a pain in the a*s, but it really only takes a minute to enter all this information and the payoff is great. There's a stats feature that has great graphics depicting how you're playing. I only have two gripes about this app. First, the shot tracker that measures distance is a bit quirky. I turned it on, left it in the cart to go hit my shot, came back and it already measured 6 yards--I hadn't even moved and it measured 6 yards!! Granted, they state it's accurate within 7 yards, but I found that to be odd. Second, it takes a while to update the distance. It's not as accurate as a handheld GPS device like a Garmin Nuvi and takes longer to get the distance. This is only a big deal if you have a group riding your a*s; you may need to give yourself an extra 30-60 seconds to get an accurate reading. Overall--excellent app. I've been perusing the others but this one seems to be the best of the lot!!!

Replaces 400 dollar GPS Devices boomerz4 - Version 1.2 - 9/18/2009 - United States

I gave away my GPS Golf Buddy after using this for about 6 rounds. Way worth the money. Very user friendly. Thanks for a great app.

Best app on my iphone Boobero - Version 1.2 - 9/18/2009 - United States

I was nervous about paying this much for an app, but it's been well worth it. I use it every round, the stats are great and worth the cost by itself. I took pictures of 5 courses that weren't in the system and they were updated within a week. Gps is very accurate. I love it.

Can't live without iPhone, Can't golf without Golfshot! RGKeating - Version 1.2 - 9/18/2009 - United States

Truly an amazing application that is very easy to use. The app doesn't even interupt the flow of the game its so convienent. I've tried to manage stats before to see where my game needs improvment with little success. This application tracks and shows me exacty what I need to focus on at the driving range in readable comprehendable graphs. Great UI with one complaint - the color scheme for indicating par 3,4 and 5 don't match to the standard Red, Gold Blue distance so this throws me. Might I suggest actually stating Par 3, 4 and 5 on the top of the form? I'm in Silicon Valley and all courses are available and GPS is quick. Occasionally lost GPS signal and it takes 15-20 seconds and sometimes you wait to see if the distance is going to change again. looking forward to seeing stat tracking for multiple players too!

Good but not great VobidoV - Version 1.2 - 9/17/2009 - United States

I've tried to use this through a full round, but the battery does not last more than 10 holes - even with everything turned off like they suggest. I have a PDF reader with the manual loaded on and that helps a lot. I use this now more to track drive distances and spot out blind shots. It's a nice utility but it's only slightly more useful than a good yardage book.

Extroadinary Amazing App. H2O Commish - Version 1.2 - 9/17/2009 - United States

I research things to the Nth degree. With the exception of the Iphone battery problem this is incredible. I used it once and became a fan. Responce time is relatively fast. It can be turned completely off to save the battery and will still re-acquire the satellites quickly. With some effort on your part you can make the whole round but I would suggest buying a small plug in additional battery. Unbelievably accurate. Takes little getting used to but I was impressed that something so inexpensive could be this good. How about before you get home your score is emailed to you. Aerial views are also on the money.

Great App! iPhone is Great! - Version 1.2 - 9/17/2009 - United States

I was skeptical at first, but for $29, it was worth the risk. It is very accurate. I never had to look for yardage markers or sprinkler heads. I knew exactly what club to use. You may need to get an iPhone external battery to help out, but that is more of an iPhone issue, not the App. I dont know how the stand alone GPS units can compete. I never want a monthly subscription fee, so this is a great purchase.

Good but not great ___røb___ - Version 1.2 - 9/17/2009 - United States

I've tried to use this through a full round, but the battery does not last more than 10 holes - even with everything turned off like they suggest. I have a PDF reader with the manual loaded on and that helps a lot. I use this now more to track drive distances and spot out blind shots. It's a nice utility but it's only slightly more useful than a good yardage book.

Great deal dave Huhn - Version 1.2 - 9/16/2009 - United States

For $30 I give this five stars. It does most of what a SkyCady does for a fraction of the cost. I have already added two courses that were not listed. No hassles, easy to use.

The bomb zurcwerks - Version 1.2 - 9/16/2009 - United States

For the price this blows away any golf caddie. My only complaint is with iPhone battery not app. Too bad the hardware can't catch up to the software.

Great deal Dave Huhn - Version 1.2 - 9/16/2009 - United States

For $30 I give this five stars. It does most of what a SkyCady does for a fraction of the cost. I have already added two courses that were not listed. No hassles, easy to use.

Great App! Jason Sheehan - Version 1.2 - 9/16/2009 - United States

One of my favorites!

Great deal David Huhn - Version 1.2 - 9/16/2009 - United States

For $30 I give this five stars. It does most of what a SkyCady does for a fraction of the cost. I have already added two courses that were not listed. No hassles, easy to use.

Great App! JayScooper - Version 1.2 - 9/16/2009 - United States

One of my favorites!